Spot on: amigurumi_craze

Welcome to my first “Spot on” – interviews and stories of people that are amazingly creative! There will be designers, crafters, innovators, dealers, backers, miniature painting heroes and many, many more – people that you really should keep an eye on.

I am lucky to know amigurumi_craze in person and even fear I am an ezzy-bizzy tiny bit responsible for her amigurumi craziness. Okay, maybe not that tiny…. I am always so impressed by how fast she is creating her critters. She really has a hand for adding those tiny little special details that fit perfectly and make each amigurumi something totally unique. And she is always finding the perfect shooting scenery for her woolly friends.

So spotlight on! I proudly present you – amigurumi_craze!

So tell us, when did you first learn to crochet? 

Actually, back in school. Or we were supposed to learn it, at least. I used to bring everything back home to my mom, who then kindly finished the unwanted job.
But, since you always seem to meet twice in life, along came a good friend and gave me an amigurumi snail, and I loved it at first sight and wanted to create my own. Fun aside, actually it was all your fault, really. You gave me the snail, and next came a crochet set for an oven cloth for Xmas – and I have been hooked ever since.

What is the number one reason that you crochet?

I read a quote recently: I crochet not to kill anybody 😊 It actually calmes me, helps me relax after a hard day at the office, plus I love that you create something.

img_0204What are your preferred projects?

My preferred projects are still amigurumi, even though I try the odd granny square bag or blanket once in a while. I like small projects, though, a big one would have me bored easily.

Do you have a favorite designer?

I love all the amigurumi creations by Miss Hook and lalylala. They have a lot of personality in my mind, and every piece teaches you some new trick.

img_0202Which of your projects are you most proud of?

I love all my amigurumi children of course 😊 but since I have to pick one, it would be Alpen Resi by Miss Hook. She was the first more complex Amigurumi I made, and I love how she turned out.

What would you love to learn concerning crochet that you have not had time for yet?

Well, I still cast a dreamy eye upon crochet clothing, pullovers or tops. But I am a little scared of the measurements plus I am worried to get bored before finished.

What is the most important thing you would tell a crochet-newbie?

To just crochet along. Take it stitch by stitch, even though the pattern might be confusing at first. Never give up!

How many UFOs are currently in your to do basket?

What a torturous question. Let’s see…half a cotton granny square blanket, a Marilyn Monroe amigurumi without legs, a Miss Hook amigurumi with legs but no upper body, the simply crochet pick’n mix CAL blanket and – thanks to you my dear – the lalylala spring bird we just started… so this makes 5 UFOs. I really try to avoid them but they just keep popping up…too many projects, too little time…

Is there any other creative spark in you life?

I love everything creative, I used to draw, paint, make clay figures, I love make-up art and nail-art. But at the moment I stick to my one love – the crochet hook 😊

Where can we sneak in and take a look at your projects?

Best to visit me on Instagram – as Amigurumi_craze.

Thanks very much, amigurumi_craze, for sharing your story! Want to know what amigurumi_craze was working on while being interviewed? Check out her accounts for the amazing results!

Want to be in the spotlight and share your story, too? Drop me a line and I’ll get back to you as soon as possible!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Please leave a message!

