Let them eat cake!

Every year in March it happens again and again – just like the famous Groundhog day and dreaded similarly: my birthday. So in order to fight the depressing feeling that another year has passed and still so much time is needed to finish all my projects, I usually throw a party for my closest friends.

img_0217One constant is me creating my own birthday cake. I really LOVE decorating cakes and it is so much fun to come up with an idea and follow it through till the end. It will not come as a big surprise that this years theme was yarn addiction related. And as I am a huge fan of Cake Duchess Modelling Paste, I also needed to incorporate some modelling using it.  The design I had worked out all in my head pretty fast. I am terrible in getting ideas on paper, so it just stayed there. Okay, to be honest it was a little bit of a blurry design – a cup, some yarn, some mice, some fabric – mix and arrange. But that’s just my chaotic way of designing.

img_0219I have some firsts in this cake: first time working with a core of Styrofoam for the yarn balls and first time of using modelling chocolate to cover the cake. We are all not really fond of fondant, so I decided that it would be best to use chocolate instead. As I wanted to go for a basket weave in the beginning, modelling chocolate was best anyway as it does not dry out that fast giving me more time to work with. But as a first is was so much more difficult to work with than with fondant – I adapted the design as I went along. I made all the decorating elements in advance – as they will not be eaten anyway they can dry properly until added to the cake. As a full time worker it’s just better to split a huge projects into smaller sub-projects and not to finish all in one day.

img_0218Every time I use CD Modelling Paste I fall in love with it again. It’s so easy to work with and even paste I had colored and wrapped in cling film a month ago was still pliable. I never was able to secure gum paste or fondant so that it did not dry out – no matter how tight I wrapped and packed it.

The initial design only had mice in it – tiny little mice helpers for my crafty stuff. But then I stumbled over a design in the book The Art of Modelling Chocolate by Nadia Flecha Guazo and I just had to add it. So the figure I now love most is my own little wool provider which I really enjoyed making.

And you know what? Mice have a tendency to rise in population size quickly. Well those two are actually not mice but rats but we don’t want to be picky. When I invited a friend of mine to the party, she commissioned those two for her kids. I actually had given her one as a Christmas present last year but her two boys kept fighting over it. They even did a reading battle as the one reading would get to use it. How funny is that! I strongly believe in the power of books – I have a huge library at home myself – and therefore really enjoy it when youngsters learn to love them. So as those two rascals have birthday in March too, I set out to get them some more books and provided them each with a rat of their own. Maybe next time I’ll add some more of Supergurumis cool bookmark designs – and this time I will make two right from the start 😉

img_0212

Please leave a message!

