Spring is in the air

Spring is the season I love most – colors are brightening and everywhere you see new life appearing. Each year, when the weather gets warmer and the sun comes out to play, I feel my spirit rising and find much more power to do my projects.

So it’s also no wonder that in spring I am prone to finding new projects I want to start. And sad to say, it seems that this year I have become a CALoholic. As you all know for the Hygge shawl I joined the corresponding Facebook group. All of a sudden there popped up a posting about the Nuts about Squares CAL that’s supposed to start end of March. The minute I saw the pictures I was lost. So terribly beautiful – I really struggled hard not to join. But then I made the biggest mistake EVER! I joined the corresponding CAL-Facebook-Group. It’s actually only partly related to the CAL – it’s more like a group of creative crochet crazies which have a lot of fun together sharing their newest finished projects. I was so DOOMED! It’s like you tangle the drug right in front of the drug addict saying “come and get it”. 100 million new ideas! So no wonder I ordered a kit for Nuts about Squares – I just couldn’t help it. Okay, okay, I actually ordered two – one with the suggested color scheme Earth and one of my own making. IMG_0253In order to soothe my conscience afterwards I finished one of my WIP projects. You might remember the project amigurumi_craze and I where working on during our interview? It was half finished until now as I worked on other stuff in the meantime. It took me less than 2 hours to finish it and I am happy with the result. It’s Titus from lalylala’s spring minis. I so love this designer and I will definitely also do Bjoern and Carla soon.

I got distracted however by this crazy new group and after seeing all those really gorgeous Mandala Madnesses and Sophie’s Universes I wanted to do something similar. But maybe not that big and time consuming. However I am in love with mandala crochet and I asked Dr. Google who burped up really a lot. I probably now have mandala designs ready for the next millennium 🙂 I picked a really simple one – I wanted something soothing and relaxing, not another challenge. It’s a free design by Arne & Carlos and can be found on the website of the yarn manufacturer Schachenmayr. It was nice working on something simple for a moment and I love how the colors brighten everything. I use it as cover of an old pillow for my balcony garden. I’d love to sit outside as soon as it gets warm …

IMG_0252

Please leave a message!

