Hygge – cutting the yarn

IMG_0296Hygge is fast approaching the end. It feels quite strange to me to finish one of the longest projects I’ve been continuously working on soon.  This time I really stuck with it and each week I did the pattern that was released. The final cross stitch part were beautiful diamonds – the picture just doesn’t show the subtleness of colour changes well. We still have not used our small goodies yet as you can see. I believe that they might be part of the border or the finish.

IMG_0297The last week was the second bobbles section. I considered at first to copy the bobble section of the first week but then I stuck with the original design. I just made a small ajustment – rather then working the bobbles from the back I added another row of single crochet and worked them from the right side. I just didn’t like the look from the back and I love the feeling of bobbling bobbles. And then there was this one moment – the one where the pattern says “cut of your yarn and weave in all the ends”. I captured this moment on the picture as it felt quite strange to cut the yarn after 11 weeks of securing it and continuing the next week from there.

IMG_0299I still have quite a lot of yarn left even though I still need some for the border. It is said that the border will take approximately 1 1/2 to 2 skeins of Sheepjes Stone washed but I still have 4 1/2 left. I heard rumors that there might be an additional pattern waiting on the last day for using that yarn though. But I might use them to create some bathroom accessory that’s been on my mind for quite some time though.

I am still uncertain what I am going to do with my Hygge. The wrap feels to me quite stiff and heavy – I know I am a tight crocheter. I am used to lighter wraps like my lovely cotton yarn Seychelle wrap I made last year and love to wear now that it’s getting warmer. Maybe it will become a wall hanging. Or a table runner. I just need to figure that out soon as it influences if I line it or not. My backside is quite nice so there actually is no need for a lining.

But guess what – the end of a CAL means always that you have now more time for a new project. Therefore I ordered myself some yarn for a – well actually 2 – new projects. And there’s also still the Nuts about Squares CAL going on which is now halfway finished too. Time is flying by so quickly, it’s quite scary.

Want to laugh instead? Check out the blog post of a very good friend of mine about our gaming session of “Stille Post extrem”. We had such a hard laugh that I still feel my belly muscles – guess I’ll they will be quite sore tomorrow 🙂

Please leave a message!

