Of Boho Style and In-Betweeners

I am a little bit tired of creating endless numbers of squares for my current two CALs. Don’t get me wrong – I really love them and the challenges they bring up every week. However it’s kind of a perpetuum mobile – each week new squares, once done wait for the next and on and on and on ….ย This is why I needed some smaller in between projects. Projects which show a result pretty soon and make me feel like I achieved something right away.

IMG_0311I started out by testing the newest hype – Rico Creative Bubble. It’s a yarn that can be used to knit or crochet your own personal kitchen scrubby. When I found it in a local store, I just had to grab two balls to try it out. The color choices are terrible but I guess that’s accounted to the material: 100% polyester and thats exactly how it feels like. As you can see in the picture it has tiny little “hair” – those should lead to the scrubby effect. It definitely does it’s job but it is also terrible on your fingers when you are working with it. I did not buy the corresponding books as they contained just simple patters which just would not be worth the money. I thought I could just wing those anyway without a pattern.

IMG_0331I decided to give it a try with a simple round mandala design. Nothing fancy really but after several trials and errors it became clear pretty fast, why the books contained only simple patterns. You just can’t make anything other that looks at least a bit neat. I then decided just to wing a quick pattern that contains only single crochet and drop stitches. It looks okay but I surely will not work with that yarn ever again. And I would definitely never ever use it as a bath scrubby as the manufacturer actually suggests – I rather prefer natural products on my skin.

IMG_0329The second in-betweener was an idea that I had on my mind for quite some time now. I had bought a 9cm cross stitch hoop and wanted to create a mandala to hang in there. It should then become part of my craft room decoration. I have been searching the world wide web and ravelry to and fro, bookmarking 1 million new project ideas, but never finding anything that fitted 9cm. I fell in love with the pattern Rhiannon by Grace Fearon however and I thought I might give it a try using crochet thread. And guess what – it fits perfectly! I messed up with crocheting around the hoop on the last round a little and it ended a bit too loose. So I had to become creative in tightening them up. It’s not perfect but I love it nevertheless.

IMG_0332The third project was something totally different. I stumbled over the latest issue of the Cross Stitcher and it contained a freebie of a fake leather boho style crochet bracelet. I fell in love with it at first sight and I just had to bring it home with me. It was soo nice cross stitching again after such a long time and it took me only a couple hours to finish. I now have to find those boho earing freebies I have bought previously but have not done yet …

And finally, what made my week perfect: I got nominated for the Liebster award by Tracy from It’s a T-Sweets day!ย ย (Check out her blog if you have not done it yet!). It’s an award to get to know new blogs and I am so proud that my tiny little blog got noticed. Now I have just read it yesterday and had no time to prepare everything properly for a serious posting about it today but I just HAD to let you know *makes a happy dance*

5 thoughts on “Of Boho Style and In-Betweeners

  1. Your mandala is beautiful and congratulations on the nomination ๐Ÿ™‚ very exciting indeed! Can’t wait to read a bit more about you โ˜บ๏ธ

    Like

      1. Yes it’s been so lovely to be nominated so many times but it’s taken lots of time to answer all those questions! I might make another post next week about the rest of them ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Like

  2. Love your mandala! I too bought an embroidery hoop for one, mine is massive and have yet to make anything that fits it! One day i hope I’ll make one that will turn out to be the perfect fit and it will be meant to be ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Please leave a message!

