Nuts Joining

IMG_0350I know I am breaking my own routine by not writing about the Starburst Melodies CAL but about my Nuts about Roses. But on the one hand side I messed up square 11 of the Starburst Melodies and had to frog it already twice and on the other hand I just couldn’t stop with my Nuts.

IMG_0352The last square was Lise by probably one of my most favourite designers – Polly Plum. This one was so much fun as it was easy to make. Just the right square to finish of the square making. I love how in these squares my color choice really played well together.

I still have a lot of yarn left of my color B – the really bright pink – and some of color C – the green – but I already have a stashbuster project in mind. I just wait until I am sure that I really don’t need any of those for the border.

IMG_0358And then the joining started – it was the first time I ever joined squares together. The instructions called for a zipper join. I was happy about that because I like that neat look it creates. And it does not add too much to the already pretty busy blanket.

Halfway through – when checking the Facebook group – I found out that I started totally wrong. I was supposed to start joining the short rows first and then add the length to it. I started with the length and then had to struggle a little bit with the heaviness of the blanket. I was almost finished when I realized that I twisted two squares on the last row by accident. So some frogging and a break later, all squares where at least halfway joined.

IMG_0357Then the really tedious work began – the joining of the rows while balancing the whole blanket on my legs in a heat period going up to 36 degrees. What a hell but at least I now know that the finished blanket will be nice and warm. And I tested it already on my hubby and for his blanket I need to add at least one more row to it. I am already thinking on which squares I am going to pick as add-ons.

But now I have to wait for two weeks until the pattern for the border is released. I hope that until then the weather is a little bit cooler cause I am not looking forward working on my Nuts in heat again.

 

Please leave a message!

