Ross Poldark, the Alphabet Collaboration and a free pattern

This week was quite busy – not concerning finishing projects but more on getting new projects on board. I worked on my Nuts Border but we are currently having a heat wave which makes cocheting on it slow work. So sadly I don’t have a finished blanket yet.

IMG_0385However the first new project added to my list is the Ross Poldark CAL. The pattern was created by the amazingly creative designer Catherine Bligh and the CAL will be starting on the 12th of July. I have received my yarn pack already from Loveknitting and can’t wait to get started. The colors are so lovely and the design is so gorgeous <3. And of course it’s again connected to a Facebook group – my fourth crochet related one – that provides me with one million of new project ideas. I am so doomed ….

A good friend of mine is actually responsible for the second project added. She asked me recently if I do anything else besides crocheting.  Yes, I still clean my apartment and even my balcony garden gets watered now and again :P.  And I have time to meet with friends, too. But it’s quite true that this year I spent very much time on crocheting – it can be done next to the TV, it is easy to pick up and easy to store away and I don’t need to plan very much (which is nice after a hard day at work which involves lots of planning and organizing). So on my way home I read that Etty van Urk, the Cake Dutchess, who is my inspiration for modelling fondant figurines, wanted to start an “edible alphabet cake topper collaboration” using Cake Dutchess modelling paste. My fingers were faster to type “I’m in!” than my brain was able to process what I was doing :P. I now have to come up with an idea for a word starting with the letter “H” and an kids-suitable design. I am loving the challenge!

IMG_0331And last but not least I published my first free pattern. You might remember the dish scrubber I created using Rico Creative Bubble. It’s not a fancy design but I thought that I might as well write it down as I was not able to find such a pattern when searching the web. I decided to publish it on Ravelry, my own preferred source of patterns – and after quite a struggle with figuring out how to actually get my instructions uploaded there, I am happy to announce that you can find it here in case you want to give it a try too. It’s my first written and charted pattern – so please be kind to me ;). Any feedback is welcome – especially if anyone knows the official chart symbol for a drop stitch (searched the web to and fro and was not able to find anything on it at all).

 

Please leave a message!

