Of Pillows and Cakes

I know,  I know – I am supposed to work on my Stardust Melodies CAL or my Ross Poldark CAL. But I got side-tracked a little bit  – not only because I am currently sick of working on long time projects. Those who read my blog regularly have seen the sneak peak already – so …. *dramatic drumroll*

IMG_0403Since the first time I have seen pictures of the In Bloom pillow by Johanna Lindal from Mijo Crochet, I knew that I had to make one for myself. And of course for someone who knows what my living room looks like, it should be really easy to find out which color scheme I was aiming for: Winter Rose. I did change it a little as I went for cream rather than using the harsher contrast of real white but I love the more subtle look. This pillow took much longer than expected – it’s actually a really big square that’s folded over and crocheted together in the back. It took me quite some time to figure out how this is done correctly – while trying to ignore the probably well-ment comments of my hubby such as “Are you sure that is right? It looks funny that way… “.

IMG_0404The second half of the week was dedicated to something totally different – a late-birthday cake for a good friend and dedicated running partner. She requested a Death by Chocolate so a Death by Chocolate she got. Rich chocolate cake with dark chocolate buttercream frosting and dark chocolate ganache topped with – of course – chocolate! It was 37 degrees outside and I was messing around with buttercream – not an easy feat for sure. But what really got me enoyed was, when my first patch of ganache desided to split. What a mess! No quick safe IMG_0408measure worked and I really got frustrated. It was already late on Saturday and I had to rush to the supermarket to grab some more chocolate before the market closed. The second patch worked fine though and I am happy with the result. The dripping could have been finer (will use a squeeze bottle next time) but overall it worked out as planned. And it was so moist and deliciously rich – I still try not to think of the amount of calories though …. But the party guest seemed to have loved it, so that I was able to redistribute those tiny little buggers to someone else’s hips :P. And if you want to have a good laugh, check the funny results produced in our session of “Stille Post Extreme” at my friend’s blog  – my belly still hurts from laughing so much yesterday!

Please leave a message!

